Something Big!

Day 138

Prayer for the day

In your righteousness, deliver me and set me free; incline your ear to me and save me.

Scripture for the day

1 Chronicles 7-9, John 6:22-44

I remember my younger years when I would go to camps and youth conferences. I remember the speakers would inevitably talk about how we all wanted to do something big for God, and how we would have to take risks and fully submit and dream big and not let the devil get a foothold and make sure we were in the centre of God’s will.

I remember all of that.

What I missed, I suppose, was the scriptural backing for the notion that God is always wanting to do “something big.” It seems like God’s idea of what he wants us to do is often much less grandiose than we believe.

In the First Testament story today, we read about a branch of the Levites whose job it was to guard the four entrances to the tent of meeting. That’s right, the “big” thing God wanted this entire family to be in charge of for generations was ensuring no unauthorized personel went in or out of the tent without the say-so of the head honchos.

The call of God placed upon these lives seems silly, mundane even, but God makes it clear that their allotment is no less important than the others!

In the Second Testament, Jesus is asked about the work that God would have his people do. It’s really the same struggle we see in Chronicles: What does God want me to do?

Jesus answers this question not in grandiose terms, not with statements about how God is going to want you to do something huge! He answers by saying that the work of those who follow God is to believe in the one who sent him. That is, the work of God, the work that God calls his followers to, is to live lives that evidence belief in God, the sending God who sent Jesus and who sends us to do that very work wherever we’re at.

Go, and do SOMETHING, big or small, for God!

Leave a Reply

