By Faith

Day 319

Prayer for the day

To you, O LORD, I lift up my soul; my God, I put my trust in you; let me not be humiliated, nor let my enemies triumph over me. Let none who look to you be put to shame.

Scripture for the day

Ezekiel 1-2, Hebrews 11:1-19

have you ever read stories about the towering characters of faith throughout history and asked this question: how? How can these women and men trust God so completely that they’re willing to stake everything on that trust? Come on, we think, I have children. I have a family. I need to support them. How could I possibly follow God direction when there is no guarantee of success or ease? This seems a fool’s bet.

Yet we have these stories. We have these incredible examples. We have the example of Ezekiel. A thirty-year-old man receives an extraordinarily confusing vision, and then a call from God. His call is not an easy one, and does not promise much beyond God being with him. Yet in this call, Ezekiel finds purpose, and sets out to do exactly what God would have him do. He sets out in faith, believing that the word of God will be true in his life.

Hebrews picks up the same theme, with various biblical characters doing what they do “by faith.” Abraham, Abel, Noah, Enoch, all are called faithful men of God who do what they do not because of personal bravery or gumption, but by the faith they have in God. They refuse to believe that what God has promised will not come to pass. They follow exactly what God would have them do. And each is held up as a hero of the faith.

What will our stories look like, in the end? Will we be those of whom it is said “they lived by faith?” Will we be those commended by God and the world for our lives that did not concern themselves with riches or perishables, but only with the faith in Christ?

Leave a Reply

